History of the Riverside Best Ball

The Riverside Best Ball is one of the oldest invitational golf tournaments in the Pacific Northwest, celebrating its 81st year in 2019. Played on one of the Northwest’s classic and historic golf courses, the Riverside Best Ball has attracted some of the region’s best amateurs during its history. In recent years, the course has been included by Golf Digest as one of the top 125 Classic Courses in America.

The course was designed by Chandler Egan, one of the country’s great historic golf course architects. It’s tree-lined fairways and quick but true greens make the 6,700 yard layout a true golfing challenge. For a hole-by-hole look at Riverside Golf & Country Club, view the Course Tour here.

Riverside was home to legendary golf pro Eddie Hogan, in whose memory  the Hogan Junior Cup matches are played each summer. Tiger Woods, Fred Couples, and Peter Jacobsen are among those who have played in the Hogan Cup over the years.

Riverside has also been host to many great golf events in its history, including the LPGA Tour, the Payless Challenge, the Al Giusti Memorial as well as state and regional championships.

For a more complete history of Riverside, this year celebrating its 94th year, visit Riverside Golf & Country Club’s website.

Open Division players play in the Sutton Division, named after Riverside Golf Professional Emeritus Pat Sutton, who has overseen more than half the 80 previous tournaments.

The Senior Division players enjoy the Perkins Division, named after Cy Perkins who participated in 70 straight events before his death at age 97 in 2008. In 1948, to ensure the tournament’s continuation, he hosted the event in The Dalles after Riverside was inundated by the Columbia River during the Vanport Flood.

In 2012, the Masters Division was renamed for Spike Beeber, beloved long-time Riverside member and tournament participant. Spike spent decades helping with the development of golf in the Northwest, including many years serving in various capacities with the Pacific Northwest Golf Association. In 2015, the age for this division was changed from 65 to 60 and older to stimulate increased participation in the division. The change increased the number of teams from five in 2014 to 25 in 2016.

To see a list of winners dating back to 1939 in the Sutton Division, Perkins Division and Beeber Division visit Past Winners here.